Nutella Brownies and Birthdays

Birthdays.

They are a funny thing – first, we are so madly excited about having them that we can’t even wait a whole year to pass until we turn that next precious digit. Next, we begin to assign value to certain numbers such as 13, 16, 18, or 21, attaching special rituals and rights to them that involve strange things like automobiles and alcohol. Then vanity sets in and we fear each year with every fiber of our being, slathering ourselves with anti-aging lotions, buying gym memberships, considering Botox, and fretting about the first signs of a wrinkle, white hair, or heaven forbid…sagging. Then I imagine we become indifferent at some point, eventually just being happy to be healthy, and the big day becomes an accomplishment instead of a curse again.

It is a confusing cycle.

My birthday is in two days, and already I find myself warring with my vanity mind about socially-induced fears about aging. By no means am I about to be put out to pasture or anything like that, but the big scary 30 is only a few years away, and this weekend, I’ll be stepping into a whole new category of maturity: The Late Twenties. I am determined not be “that person” who stops having birthdays altogether, or the one whom everyone avoids once a year, as they turn from peaceful and pleasant folk to volatile and deranged lunatics.

So to temporarily distract myself from my ridiculous susceptibility towards unwarranted social fears, I baked up some moist, decadent Nutella brownies! Maybe they won’t stop me from getting older, but they definitely cushion the blow.

I recommend an extra large dose of these chocolatey-hazelnutty squares to cure what ails you today!

Image

Recipe for Nutella Brownies:

1/2 Cup Flour
1/4 Tsp Salt
1/2 Cup Brown Sugar, packed
1 Cup Nutella
1/2 Cup Unsalted Butter, melted
2 Large Eggs
1 Tsp Vanilla Extract

  1. Preheat oven to 325 F. Sift together flour and salt. Set aside.
  2. Beat eggs, Nutella, brown sugar, and vanilla extract with an electric mixer until smooth.
  3. Alternately mix in flour mixture and melted butter, until everything is incorporated.
  4. Bake on the middle rack for 35 minutes. They should be slightly moist on the inside.
  5. Wait 2 hours, or until brownies are completely cool and firm. This is the hardest part.
  6. Slice with a plastic knife for clean lines. Enjoy!

*Note:
Feel free to throw in chopped hazelnuts, chocolate chips, bacon bits, mini marshmallows, or whatever tickles your fancy.
If you try this recipe, please let me know how it goes. I hope you like it as much as I do.

2 thoughts on “Nutella Brownies and Birthdays

Leave a Reply

