Aspirin Mask

BEAUTY.

How much would you and/or have you spent in pursuit of improving what the good lord gave you?…or at least maintaining it?
If you’re anything like me, that number is much more than you’d care to admit. Right?
The beauty industry is a million (if not, billion) dollar industry for a reason! We all want to look the best that we possibly can – some of us are serial dieters, some of us are gym bunnies, some of us are product junkies, and some of us are addicted to the scalpel/needle.

Me? I am a product and makeup hoarder. I really think know I have a problem, and I do tell myself I should stop, but then I see a shiny new product promising me perfection and I fall for it all over again. It’s a vicious cycle, and my poor wallet (in more ways than one) is ultimately the one who suffers in the end! Sigh.

Because of my obsession, I’ve spent (too many) years scouring countless books, magazines and websites in pursuit of a cure to what ails me, and in so doing I’ve found invaluable beauty tips and tricks that I feel ought to be shared with you on my little piece of the blogosphere. 🙂
Note: Please make sure you do not suffer from any allergies to the products I recommend. Always take the time to do a patch test just in case, as these products may contain ingredients that are suitable for me but may not work so well for you.
(I.e. Please don’t sue me if it doesn’t work!)

Spots have been the bane of my existence since puberty hit, and boy did it hit me hard! Doctors have told me it was a phase and dermatologists have suggested countless treatments that have produced various results. But at this point in my life, I know adult acne will be something I just have to deal with because I can’t afford long-term treatments at this time. A small comfort that has been reliable in calming my breakouts has been the discovery of the Aspirin Mask.
As I like to make it fresh as and when I need it, I make my recipe in small doses. But feel free to make it in a large batch if you can store it in your refrigerator. I have kept a batch for as long as 3 weeks with no negative side effects or spoilage.

ASPIRIN MASK

  • 7  Aspirin (reduce swelling and redness)
  • 1 Egg white (pore-tightening, firming)
  • 1 Tsp Pure Honey (anti-aging, moisturizing, antiseptic)
  • 2 Tbs Plain Greek Yogurt (moisturizing, calming, reduce discoloration)

.
– Place Aspirin in a small bowl with 2-3 droplets of water. Leave it for a few seconds until the aspirin becomes powdery.
– Beat fresh egg white and honey together with a whisk, then stir into the yogurt.
– Add mixture to the dissolved aspirin, mix well.
– Apply to freshly cleansed skin and leave it on until the mask dries, then rinse with water.
– Proceed with your usual beauty regime (toner, moisturizer, etc).

This recipe is easily customizable to your needs if you have an allergy or dislike any of the ingredients. Mashed avocado, banana, strawberries, oatmeal, clay, or whatever else you think is more appealing can be used in place of what I have suggested. Play with the amount of ingredients to adjust the viscosity of the mask – it will dry powdery, so prepare accordingly (you could always just use more yogurt to counter this)!

I use the mask 1-3 times a week or as an overnight spot treatment when necessary, and it has worked marvelously for me! My skin is always calmer the next day, and spots take less time to dry up. I hope this becomes as much of a beauty staple for you as it has for me!

Leave a Reply

