Dulce de Leche Brownies (Eggless)

I have discovered in the past couple of years that I have an egg allergy.

Due to a dear friend’s advice, I omitted eggs from my diet after she relayed her sister’s story of skin sensitivity due to an intolerance of eggs to me. Willing to try anything in the quest for better skin, I too decided to cut eggs completely from my diet and my skin miraculously began clearing up. My cursed life-long plague of acne was no more (or at the very least, noticeably reduced) in less than a month. It was freaking magic! I found myself caught up in a whirlwind of emotions – relief, gratitude, joy, confidence…yet also sadness and disappointment, for not having known sooner and potentially saving myself many years of insecurities.

Since becoming egg-free, baking has been a challenge – not to mention, dining out, trying many different recipes, learning the hard way that dipping sauces have egg too, etc. I know…total #firstworldproblems but it truly does suck. It is especially sad since so many of my favorite foods from Singapore have egg in them in some variation or other. So goodbye luscious oyster omelettes, crispy white-carrot cake, cloud-like (alien green) pandan chiffon cake, and the culinary orgasm that is chili crab. FML.

Oh well. What can I do, my body hates me? Sigh. At least I can take comfort in occasional baking successes, such as this eggless Dulce de Leche Brownie from blogger, Tomato Blues. It’s fabulous!! Fudgy and decadent, it is made even better with homemade dulce de leche, if possible. Mine was gifted to me from another dear friend, Kelsey, who makes it from condensed milk.

2015105844

NOTE: I tweaked Tomato Blues’ recipe a little bit, plus converted it to the Standard measurement scale. I have also included some of the brands of products I used in case you’re curious.

Eggless Dulce de Leche Brownies

Ingredients:
1 Cup All Purpose Flour (King Arthur Brand)
1/2 Cup Butter, Unsalted
1 Cup & 2 Tbsp Caster Sugar (Superfine sugar)
3/4 Cup Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (Guittard)
1/4 Cup Cocoa Powder (Ghirardelli)
1/4 Tsp Salt
3/4 Tsp Baking Powder
1/2 Cup Greek Yogurt/Sour Cream (Tillamook sour cream)
3/4 Cup Dulce de Leche
1 Tsp Vanilla extract (Nielsen-Massey)
[Optional: 1 Tbsp Espresso or Kahlua/Tia Maria]

Steps:
– Preheat the oven to 350 F. Prepare a brownie pan to your liking – I used a round glass Pyrex tart pan and spritzed it with PAM butter/flour baking spray.
– In a small pot, melt butter on low heat. Add chocolate chips and whisk until smooth and melted.
– Whisk together dry ingredients: flour, salt, cocoa powder, baking powder.
– In a different bowl or stand mixer, cream together the yogurt/sour cream and vanilla extract; add sugar and mix well. Pour in melted chocolate mixture and whip the batter for 3 minutes on medium high.
– Add flour mixture in 3-4 batches, scraping the sides of the bowl down in between each addition. Beat for about 2 minutes total.
– Pour the brownie batter into the pan and smooth the top. Spoon generous gobs of dulce de leche all over the batter, then marble it with a knife or skewer/chopstick.
– Drop the pan lightly onto the counter a couple of times, then pop it in the oven for 30-45 minutes (until a wooden skewer comes out almost clean – a few crumbs are ok).
– Cool completely before cutting. (Life Hack: Cut with a plastic knife for minimal sticking!)

Variations:
– Instead of dulce de leche, use melted peanut butter/caramel/Nutella/nut butter
– Add chopped nuts (e.g. walnuts)/chopped up candy/chocolate chips/fruit (if you’re weird like that)
– For richer brownie: Increase chocolate chips to 1 cup and cocoa powder to 1/2 cup

Leave a Reply

